Jamie McGillen


"An engaging escapade with a feisty female lead." — Kirkus Reviews

In the devastating aftermath of the 1889 Great Seattle Fire, nineteen-year-old Anna Gallagher faces considerable pressure to marry well and soon. But she has no intention of giving up her freedom to keep house.

She wants to be the first woman to summit Mount Rainier.

New Release

Thanku: Poems of Gratitude


Published: 9/3/2019

How do you give thanks?

Gratitude isn’t something we need to save up for a special holiday. What are you grateful for right now, today?

This anthology brings together a diverse group of poets who express gratitude for everything from a puppy to hot cocoa to the sky itself. Each writer uses a different poetic form, and readers will encounter a concrete poem, a sonnet, a pantoum, a sijo, and much more.

Contributors include Jamie McGillen, Kimberly Blaeser, Sun Yung Shin, Naomi Shihab Nye, Ch...

Praise for Thanku: Poems of Gratitude

"Beautifully written and illustrated, this book reminds us that there are many simple things in life for which we can be grateful every day. It’s also a fantastic tool for teaching young children about different forms of poetry. A delight!"...

About Jamie McGillen

A generic square placeholder image with rounded corners in a figure.

Jamie McGillen is the author of the Rainier Series, which is historical fiction set in the Pacific Northwest. Her first novel In Sight of the Mountain was released in 2019, the sequel In Light of the Summit  was released in 2020. The final book in the series, In the Heart of Paradise, came out in November 2021!

Her poems and essays have been published in Rust + MothMarathon Literary ReviewThe Raven Chronicles JournalAvalon Literary Rev...